Skip to main content

How the planets were named?

Naming of Planets 

Jupiter, Saturn, Mars, Venus and Mercury have given their names thousands of years ago. The other planets were not discovered until much later after telescopes were invented. The tradition of naming the planets after Greek and Roman gods and goddesses were carried on for the other planets discovered as well.
Our Solar System has eight planets which orbit the sun. In order of distance from the sun they are; Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Pluto, which until recently was considered to be the farthest planet, is now classified as a dwarf planet.


Random Topics

Popular posts from this blog