Skip to main content

What are the SAARC Member countries names?

SAARC Countries Name List

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation and geopolitical union of nations in South Asia. Its seven member states include

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. India
  5. Nepal
  6. Maldives
  7. Pakistan
  8. Sri Lanka.
SAARC comprises 3% of the world's area, 21% of the world's population and 3.8% (US$ 2.9 trillion) of the global economy, as of 2015.

SAARC was founded in Dhaka on 8th December 1985. Its secretariat is based in Kathmandu, Nepal. The organisation promotes the development of economic and regional integration. It launched the South Asian Free Trade Area in 2006. SAARC maintains permanent diplomatic relations at the United Nations as an observer and has developed links with multilateral entities, including the European Union.


Random Topics

Popular posts from this blog